Origin of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a system (Yoga Darshan) described more than 2,000 years ago in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, that contains the spiritual and philosophical basis of our practice.

Ashtanga Yoga literally means ashta “eight” and anga “branch”, the eight limbs of yoga. Which are:
1- Yama (observance and conduct): Ahimsa (non-violence); Satya (truthfulness); Asteya (not steal); Brahmacharya (celibacy); Aparigraha (non-possessiveness).
2- Niyama (Commitments and principles): Saucha (purity); Santosha (contentment); Tapas (self-discipline); Svadhyaya (self-study); Ishvarapranidhana (surrender to God).
3- Asana (seat; position). 4- Pranayama (breath control; retention). 5- Pratyahara (sense control). 6- Dharana (concentration). 7- Dhyana (meditation, contemplation). 8- Samadhi (self-realization).

Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system, a traditional Yoga practice described by Vamana Rishi in the mythological text Yoga Korunta, discovered and developed by Rama Mohan Brahmachari, and passed, in 1900, to Sri T Krishnamacharya (1888-1989). In the city of Mysore, South India, this knowledge was transmitted to his disciple Sri K. Pattabhi Jois (1915-2009), which have spent over 70 years researching, refining and spreading the lineage.

The practice of Ashtanga Yoga begins on the third branch (Asana). And trough that, we start to access the teachings of the Yamas, Niyamas and the other limbs into the asana practice and also in our life, all as one thing.